My Thoughts: Ted Talk #1

Hello all!

This post is a bit different from what I usually post, but nonetheless, something I am very interested in.

****************

I’m currently watching this Ted Talk (if you don’t know what that is, what are you doing!! GO GO GO!) and I thought I’d share my thoughts a bit while watching.

First: I think it’s absolutely outrageous that at Former President Jimmy Carter’s church they abolished women from being anything above a man, such as a pastor, teaching young boys in Sunday school, etc.

I’m a Christian, as you might’ve found out from a previous blog post, but seriously. I’m literally pained for the women who go to that church.

¨I am not a feminist just for my future, but for the generations to come.¨ 

He reached his next point which was the cutting of female genitals. I think that one statement says enough, doesn’t it?

He also pointed out that in Egypt more than 91% of women had had this happen to them and in another country, 98%.

Jimmy Carter then proceeded to point out the sex trade in Atlanta, Georgia, which happens to be just a few states away from me. Being honest, I haven’t done much research on sex trade, but I definitely will now.

It was interesting. He said for every male arrested for illegal sex trade, 25 women are arrested as well. Like I said above, I will do more research. Maybe update y’all in a later post with my findings.

He said 1/4 women will be sexually assaulted by the time they graduate college and I looked it up and it said here that 1/4 will be sexually assaulted before the age of 18. That scares me, that makes me so afraid to go out and walk around men in regular shorts and a sleeveless shirt.

¨…Results of violence and the misinterpretation of the Holy Scripture are the basic causes of the abuse of women and girls.¨

¨There’s one more basic cause that I need not mention, that in general, men don’t give a d*mn.¨

¨The average man that says I’m against the abuse of women and girls quietly accept the privileged positions that we occupy.¨

Overall, I liked the message he gave and the points he made. He definitely brought some things which I haven’t done my research on, but will soon.

I’m interested in what you have to say! Watch the video. Comment and let me know what you thought.

P.S. Next post will be up Thursday & I might post an update on Tuesday just for the heck of it. I think you’ll like my Thursday post 🙂

Leave a Reply

