Baking w/ Me: Coffee Cake Muffins

Okay, so it’s now July (HAPPY JULY!! ONE MONTH CLOSER TO SCHOOL STARTING!!) and I wrote this in about six months ago. But, nonetheless, I remember the deliciousness of these muffins. Truly. Try them.

I recently baked a few things. One of the things being blueberry muffins with a crumb topping (which is, unfortunately, not what this blog post is about), and the other being coffee cake muffins. That’s right. Coffee cake muffins.

The recipe is from here. I discovered that website last night and I’ve been looking through all of the recipes. They all look so wonderful and I’m so excited to try more out.

So, a few of the changes I made to the recipes were adding about 2-2 1/2 teaspoons of milk to the powdered sugar instead of the one that the recipe calls for. I also substituted vegetable oil for canola oil. No other reason than the fact we didn’t have any.

I could be wrong, but canola oil makes the cake fluffier and lets the cake’s flavor truly shine. So I’d use that if I could. But the vegetable oil substitution wasn’t a bad one, it didn’t really affect the overall muffin in any dramatic way.

Here’s the crumb topping, which is delicious. It’s a lot, and if I were you, I’d definitely use all of it.

photo 1 (2)

photo 3 (2)

Here's the finished product with the glaze!
Here’s the finished product with the glaze!
Beautiful, huh?
Beautiful, huh?

7/1/15: To end this post, here’s some pictures from my day. 🙂 Also, I started writing again! That’s exciting since I really missed it. I downloaded iOS 8.3 a few days ago and it is amazing! I’m like a grandmother, so amazed by technology.

nature saying hello :-)
nature saying hello 🙂
it was a 6.3 mile hike. SIX MILES.
it was a 6.3 mile hike. SIX MILES.
me & my friend :-)
me & my friend 🙂
Me, caught in a moment of reflection.
Me, caught in a moment of reflection.
2 thoughts on “Baking w/ Me: Coffee Cake Muffins

Leave a Reply

