Recently Finished Books: January 2015

Hello all!

Today’s blog post will feature two books I recently finished. On 01/7/15, I finished Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs. And on 1/9/15, I finished Bad Girls Don’t Die by Katie Alender.

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children:

Let me tell you, it was one of the most beautifully planned, created, and original books I’ve ever read. I have to admit, at first, the cover was off-putting because it looked more like horror fiction and I was like “No way. I’m not buying another horror fiction novel. I’m already buying one.” But I’m so glad I picked it up after avoiding it for so long.

TIP: Read the synopsis and the first few pages before incorrectly assuming.

I especially liked how Riggs included photos throughout the books; it really made the book come to life. I wasn’t expecting the book to be so fantastic. The first 100 pages or so was mostly Jacob (the narrator’s name) talking which was beautifully written in a way where you didn’t get bored. It’s a hard thing for me to do–express a character without dialogue for so long. I can’t wait to read the sequel.

Bad Girls Don’t Die by Katie Alender:

OHMYGOODNESSOHMYGOODNESSOHMYGOODNESS

I can’t even express how much I loved re-reading this book. I read it back in 2012 or 2011, so I completely forgot what happened (for the most part), and I fell in love all over again.

It’s such a beautifully written horror/suspense novel. The main character is amazing and independent and all around great.

I also like the fact she didn’t need a guy to defeat what she was up against, but instead a former rival. She learns along the way that not everybody is as seems.

There are two more books to this series, and I cannot wait to get my hands on them.

Also, the two authors, Ransom Riggs & Katie Alender, BOTH  tweeted me. 

THEY BOTH FREAKING TWEETED ME.

Anyways, so those are the two books I finished this week. I 150% recommend them. I’m still in the midst of reading Quiet. 

Enjoy your Wednesday! 🙂

Leave a Reply

